We are pleased to announce that the 4th and final LBNet Conference will be held from 20-22 March 2019 at the Shrigley Hall Hotel, Cheshire, UK.

We are hoping to make this a stimulating meeting with updates from policy makers, industrialists and academics on progress and directions in the bioeconomy. There will be invited speakers from the UK and abroad and there will also be session speakers who will be chosen from poster abstracts submitted by those attending the meeting.

Attendance and accommodation is entirely free of charge. Attendees are responsible for their own travel expenses. There are a limited number of places available for this meeting,  and your place will be confirmed a week after the registration deadline.

The meeting will be held at Shrigley Hall Hotel, situated in the countryside within easy travelling distance from Manchester airport and Macclesfield train station (http://shrigleyhall-pottshrigley.h-rez.com/).

Outline Programme

Day 1:

Session 1: Trends and directions in the Bioeconomy. Chair: Claire Halpin, University of Dundee

Discussion panel

Day 2:

Session 2: UKBioChem10. Bio-based chemicals “Building Blocks”. Chair: Edward Green, CHAIN Biotech Ltd

Session 3: Bio-based material. Chair: Paul Mines, Biome Technologies Plc

Session 4: Bio-Based fuels. Chair Christine Parry, AB Agri, Ltd

Poster Session


Session 5: Research Funded by LBNet. Chair Tim Bugg, University of Warwick

Session 6: Phase II NIBB, The Biomass Biorefinery Network (BBNet). Chair: Simon McQueen-Mason, University of York


Confirmed Speakers:

Alexandra Spencer, the Royal Society of Biology

Adam Brown, Renewable Energy Association

Nicola Noponen, The Roundtable on Sustainable Biomaterials

Aysha Ahmed, Department for Transport

Steve Bagshaw, Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnologies

Kate Haigh, Stellenbosch University, South Africa

Paul Henderson, Beis

Neil Parry, Unilever

Jeremy Bartosiak-Jentys, Croda

Chris Hills, Green Biologics

Fabien Deswarte, Circa

Michelle Gradley, SciVerita

Thomas Farmer, University of York

Eric Whale, Cellucomp

Paul Mines, Biome Technologies Plc

Paul Dupree, University of Cambridge

Lucy Cowton, Futamura UK

Christine Parry, AB Agri Ltd

Mark Stewart, AB Sugar

Matthew Reilly, Harper Adams University

Alexandra Lanot, University of York

Agi Brandt-Talbot, Imperial College London

Carla Botelho Machado, University of York

Apostolos Papadopoulos,  Crop Intellect Ltd

Leonardo Gomez, University of York

Colin Miles, BBSRC

Beth House, NERC

David Leak, University of Bath

Dimitris Charalampopoulos, University of Reading

Michele Stanley, Scottish Marine Institute

Iain Donnison, Supergen